

## REPUBLICAN PARTY OF HARDIN COUNTY

## **STATEMENT**

We, the Hardin County Republican Party of Kentucky, stand in support of the Anderson County Senator, Adrienne Southworth-7<sup>th</sup> District, who was wrongfully targeted and removed from five (5) committees, and removed as a chair in another committee, at the beginning of the 2023 Legislative session for pushing election integrity.

This is a disservice to over 90,000 constituents in her District and the Commonwealth of Kentucky, who want transparency, responsibility and wisely spent tax dollars. This punitive action was a direct result of her standing boldly for her district and all constituents across Kentucky. By removing members from their committees as a form of punishment, **Senate Leadership is effectively silencing the voices of her constituents.** This is an assault on our representative form of government.

Every year, Senate members vote on rules that will govern the legislative process. She did not break any of those rules in any of her actions; her only "infraction" was trying to be transparent to the taxpayers on why she voted time and time again not to add more of a burden on the taxpayers and looked out for the health and well-being of the parents and children of Kentucky.

Kentuckians have overwhelmingly put their trust in Republicans to lead, as evidenced by the supermajority held in the legislature. Those who are in leadership positions must rise above political authority and palace politics and stop silencing the voices of their fellow legislators.

While other Republican members were moved into a different wing, Senator Southworth was left in a hall with the Democrats, segregating her from the Republican legislators. This hinders her from interacting with her Republican colleagues, which interferes with the legislative process.

You can reach members of leadership to express your frustration and, to request that Senator Southworth be restored to her committees, at 502-564-3120 or by their individual contacts listed below.

This information can also be found on the Legislative research commission official website.

## LIST OF SENATE LEADERSHIP

Robert Stivers (R)-Senate President

LRC: 502-564-3120 Robert.Stivers@lrc.ky.gov

Julie Adams (R)- Majority Caucus Chair

LRC: 502-564-2450 Julie.Adams@lrc.ky.gov

David Givens(R)- President Pro Tempore

LRC: 502-564-3120 David.Givens@lrc.ky.gov

Gerald Neal (D)- Minority Floor Leader

LRC: 502-564-8100 Gerald.Neal@lrc.ky.gov **Damen Thayer**(R)- Majority Floor Leader

LRC: 502-564-2450 Damon.Thayer@lrc.ky.gov

Reginald Thomas (D)-Minority Caucus Chair

LRC: 502-564-2470

Reginald.Thomas@lrc.ky.gov

Mike Wilson (R)- Majority Whip

LRC: 502-564-2450 Mike.Wilson@lrc.ky.gov

David Yates (D)-Minority Whip

LRC: 502-564-8100 David.Yates@lrc.ky.gov