

REPUBLICAN PARTY OF HARDIN COUNTY

STATEMENT

We, the Hardin County Republican Party of Kentucky, stand in support of the Hardin County Representatives, Josh Calloway- 10th District and Nancy Tate -20th District, and their colleagues, who have been wrongfully targeted and removed from their committees for challenging leadership with a motion on a rule for Senate Bill 150 (2023) AN ACT relating to children, which was proposed to "<u>ensure parental rights to decide their child/ren's life and education."</u>

In the final hour of the last day of the 2023 Legislative Session, the House leadership stripped committees from Josh Calloway, Nancy Tate and four other House members in other counties. These House members didn't break any rules that govern the legislative process. They stood on principle for what many Kentuckians stand for and were the voice of many who put them into office.

Josh Calloway and Nancy Tate are two of the four State House Representatives, who represent approximately 86,000 registered constituents in Hardin County, Kentucky. The people of Hardin County put their trust in these legislators to be our voice in Frankfort.

U.S. Representative Thomas Massie wrote on his Twitter, "Punishing dissension is short-sighted, and doing so the last hour of the session has an air of pettiness that voters detest." He also stated, "For the good of our Commonwealth, I simply offer this advice: Instead of demanding compliance and loyalty from the conservatives, who think independently while most faithfully representing our shared values and their constituents, hear the concerns and solutions for Kentucky."

We would agree with Representative Felicia Rabourn, of the 47th House District, "that this is an assault on our representative form of government. By removing members from their committees as a form of punishment, **House Leadership is effectively silencing the voices of 270,000 people across the Commonwealth**. Kentuckians have overwhelmingly put their trust in Republicans to lead, as evidenced by the supermajority we hold in the legislature. We should demand that those who are in leadership positions rise above political power plays and palace intrigue and stop silencing the voices of their fellow legislators."

You can reach members of leadership to express your frustration, and to request that all legislators be restored to their committees, at 502-564-4334 or by their individual contacts listed below.

This information can also be found on the Legislative research commission official website.

LIST OF HOUSE LEADERSHIP:

David Osborne: Speaker of the House: Phone: 502-645-2186 Email: <u>David.Osborne@lrc.ky.gov</u>

David Meade: Speaker Pro Tempore Email: <u>David.Meade@lrc.ky.gov</u> Steven Rudy: Majority Floor Leader Email: <u>Steven.Rudy@lrc.ky.gov</u>

Suzanne Miles: Majority Caucus Chair Email: <u>Suzanne.Miles@lrc.ky.gov</u>

Jason Nemes: Majority Whip Email: Jason.Nemes@lrc.ky.gov